This is the "Home" page of the "Carlos P. Surratt Genealogy Room" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Carlos P. Surratt Genealogy Room   Tags: genealogy, surry county  

Last Updated: Jul 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.surry.edu/genealogy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Genealogy Room Hours

Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Weekends: CLOSED

 

Surry County Genealogical Society

The Surry County Genealogical Association offers assistance and training to persons interested in genealogical research.

The SCGA meets at 7:00 PM on the 2nd Monday of each month in the Teaching Auditorium (A-121) at Surry Community College.

Please visit their website or contact Esther Johnson, SCGA President, for additional information.

 

Digital Archives

Cover Art
SCC Digital Archives
View digitized collections from the SCC Library. So far, we have digitized the following collections:

- SCC Yearbook Collection
- Funeral Card Collection
- Carlos P. Surratt Online Memorial

 

Carlos P. Surratt Genealogy Room

The holdings of the Carlos P. Surratt Genealogy Room include family histories, state and local records, local and national newsletters, census records, maps, and many other materials of interest to those pursuing genealogy.

Materials are available for several North Carolina counties as well as Virginia and Tennessee counties. Also available are state and national records.

Check the library catalog to determine if there are materials available that are of interest:


If traveling some distance, please call ahead to make sure the Library is open. For information or help please contact Sebrina Mabe or call 336-386-3459.

Links

  • HeritageQuest  Icon
    Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more. Users unaffiliated with SCC should access via nclive.org.
  • Sanborn Maps North Carolina  Icon
    Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities. Users unaffiliated with SCC should access via nclive.org.
  • FamilySearch
    "Provides access to the databases of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, including the Ancestral File, IGI, Family History Library Catalog, and other publications."
  • DigitalNC.org
    Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
  • NC ECHO
    NC ECHO searches across digital collections at a variety of cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina.
  • Social Security Death Index
    A searchable database of the Social Security death index.
Surry Community College Library | 630 South Main Street, Dobson, NC 27017 | (336) 386-3259 | http://libguides.surry.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip